Ayvalık is a seaside town on the northwestern Aegean coast of Turkey. It is a district of Balıkesir Province. The town center of Ayvalık is surrounded by the archipelago of Ayvalık Islands, which face the nearby Greek island of Lesbos.

It was alternatively called Kydonies by the town’s former Greek population; although the use of the name Ayvalık was widespread for centuries among both the Turks and the Greeks, pronounced as Ayvali by the latter.

Lesbos, sometimes referred to as Mytilini after its capital, is a Greek island located in the northeastern Aegean Sea. It has an area of 1,632 square kilometres (630 sq mi) with 320 kilometres (199 miles) of coastline, making it the third largest Greek island. It is separated from Turkey by the narrow Mytilini Strait.

Lesbos is a separate regional unit of the North Aegean region, and the only municipality within it. Its population is approximately 86,000, a third of which lives in its capital, Mytilene, in the southeastern part of the island. The remaining population is distributed in small towns and villages. The largest are Plomari, Kalloni, the Gera Villages, Agiassos, Eresos, and Molyvos (the ancient Mythimna).

Mytilene was founded in the 11th century BC by the family Penthilidae, who arrived from Thessaly, and ruled the city-state until a popular revolt (590–580 BC) led by Pittacus of Mytilene ended their rule. In early Middle Ages, it was under Byzantine and Genovese rule. Lesbos was conquered by the Ottoman Empire in 1462, who ruled the island until the First Balkan War in 1912, when it became part of the Kingdom of Greece.

01.01.2014 – 30.05.2014 Ferry Timetable

Wednesday 18:00
Thursday 18:00 09:00
Friday 09:00
Saturday 09:00
Sunday 18:00

01.06.2014 – 30.10.2014 Ferry Timetable

Tuesday  18:00 09.00
Wednesday 09:00 / 18:00 09:00 / 19:00
Thursday  18:00 09:00
Friday  09:00 / 18:00 09:00 / 19:00
Saturday  09:00 / 18:00 09:00 / 19:00
Sunday  09:00 / 18:00 09:00 / 19:00

Please contact us for information & reservation